Posted by: ramonamom | June 4, 2009

Another birthday!

Vanya's 18th bday 037

We celebrated this young man’s 18th birthday this past weekend  – where has the time gone?!!  He was adopted from Far Eastern Russia at the age of 8, almost ten years ago.  He is very much a traditional American young man at this point, with some of his favorite things being music, reading (especially G.A. Henty books), and working in the yard.  We especially encourage the latter!  😉 

I am sorry for the few and far between posts these days – life is quite hectic and shows promise of continuing this pace until the kids finish school (homeschool).  That will be two more years for most of them, while we stretch our youngest out an extra year with having him dual enroll in a community college. 

However, am actually scheduling time this summer for writing, so some of those musings may end up on here as time goes on.  Not sure how long our “summer” will be, though, as our offical school break will only be about one month, if that.

Responses

  1. I just found your site 2 days ago. I cannot tell you how excited I am about it! I am so excited that you use the biblical counseling and are sharing how that applies to the internationally adopted child. We brought home three brothers from Russia in December 08. They are 10,8, and 5. I found your site when I “googled” homeschooling the older adopted child. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    And congratulations to your son on his accomplishment!!

  2. I just found your site 2 days ago. I cannot tell you how excited I am about it! I am so excited that you use the biblical counseling and are sharing how that applies to the internationally adopted child. We brought home three brothers from Russia in December 08. They are 10,8, and 5. I found your site when I “googled” homeschooling the older adopted child. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    And appy birthday to your son and daughters!!

  3. Sorry about the goof-up! I had read about one son getting his GED and then the birthdays. I didn’t let me go back and remove the first comment. Sorry.

  4. Phyllis,

    Thanks for your comments. We moderate comments because of some problems we have had in the past. We usually get comments approved within a few hours. Please let us know if you don’t find a topic here covered that would be of help to you and we will try to post. You can also contact us for sensitive questions through email at adoption.3.16@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

