Posted by: ramonamom | September 6, 2008

Humility Through Adversity

I have been reading the Old Testament book of Jeremiah for some time now and learning much about God from the way He dealt with the people of Judah.  Over and over again, He warned them of their coming destruction through the prophet Jeremiah, giving them an “out” each time.  All they had to do was turn from their sinful ways and begin worshipping God again, yet they continually refused.  Once they seemed to be coming around (chapter 42), but what they told Jeremiah turned out to be a pack of lies.  Rather, they only wanted to listen to his word from God if it agreed with what they alread planned on doing (returning to Egypt).  God knew their hearts, of course, and rebuked them through Jeremiah. 

Today I was struck by Baruch’s comments and God’s answer to him.  Baruch was the man who was chosen to write down the words of Jeremiah, telling the many stories of the prophecies, the rebellion, and the coming destruction.  In Chapter 45, Baruch seems to be overcome by the thought of his people being “consumed” for their rebellious ways.  These are God’s words to Baruch, spoken through Jeremiah,

Thus you shall say to him, “Thus says the LORD: “Behold, what I have built I will break down, and what I have planted I will pluck up, that is, this whole land.  And do you seek great things for yourself?  Do not seek them; for behold, I will bring adversity on all flesh,” says the LORD.  “But I will give your life to you as a prize in all places, wherever you go.”

As we bring home our older adopted children, are we, like Baruch, “seeking great things for ourselves”?  Do we think that God “owes” us an easy transition period, and easy and enjoyable life, as we parent these children?  Or, are we thankful that God would simply grant us our own life as a prize?  Upon being faced with unexpected adversity with these children, do we complain as Baruch, “Woe is me now!  For the LORD has added grief to my sorrow.  I fainted in my sighing, and I find no rest.” 

I encourage adoptive parents today to come humbly before the Lord and give thanks for Him giving us our own lives as a prize.  May our never ending goal be to glorify Him in all that we say and do.  Embrace adversity as part of your sanctification journey, praising Him every step of the way!  Do not grow weary in doing good – allow Him to be your strength when you are weak.

Responses

  1. AMEN! Oh how this post spoke to my heart, especially after sitting under the teaching of my husband during bible study through Romans (13-15). God, You alone are worthy and may we all lay down our lives to bring honor and glory to You!

    Thanks for this post!
    God bless,
    Jill

  2. sorry i posted my comment with a bad link. OOps! Tired doesn’t mix well with posting.

    thanks again for your post!

    Blessings,
    Jill

  3. I wish everyone who adopts could read this post. These children belong to God and they have been seperated from Him and adoption is us introducing these children to their Father. Not us making ourselves look good because we adopted.


Leave a Reply

Categories

