Posted by: ramonamom | July 3, 2008

Parenthood/Servanthood

I heard the following quote yesterday evening, which struck and humbled me:

THE TEST OF SERVANTHOOD IS HOW YOU RESPOND WHEN YOU ARE TREATED LIKE ONE.

If we call ourselves believers in Christ, then we strive more and more to become like him -a servant to those around us.  As parents, serving our family should be a form of serving Christ and becoming more like him on a daily basis. 

So, today, tomorrow, next week – think about this quote as you go about your daily, sometimes mundane tasks.  As you deal with the struggles and trials of adoptig older children, ask yourself, “What are my goals in this relationship?  Is my main goal my own comfort or to serve my Lord and Savior?  Am I emulating Christ in my parenting and not shying away from “washing the feet” of my family members?”

I assure you that I will be doing the same…

Leave a Reply

Categories

