Posted by: ramonamom | April 25, 2008

The Husbandman

These are the words to a song which was written by a friend of ours, Mark Webb.  I consider it my theme song as a parent and it goes along very well with my last post:

 

The Husbandman

 

See in the field, there’s a husbandman;

Watch as he scatters the seed;

Seed sown in hope of a harvest to come,

Though he must wait so long;

 

Watch as he labors so patiently,

 

From dawn’s light ’til he cannot see;

 

The season for sowing will pass with such speed,

Watch as he scatters the seed!

 

(Chorus)

So may I scatter the seed in my hand:

The Words of Salvation from God sent to man;

For if ever they’ll be a harvest to reap,

Then someone must scatter the seed!

 

In God’s own Hand is the increase;

But this He gives to me:

To go forth and labor–His will I must heed,

Going and sowing the seed!

 

(Chorus)

So may I scatter the seed in my hand:

The Words of Salvation from God sent to man;

For if ever they’ll be a harvest to reap,

Then someone must scatter the seed!

 

If I should die before harvest time;

Even if others should reap;

Lord, keep me faithful in both word and deed

As I go sowing the seed!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

